Estela Sokol, André Komatsu, Jonathas de Andrade, Marcelo Moscheta and Virginia de Medeiros. PHOTOS: Publicity

On Wednesday, the 19th, the five finalists of the Marcos Amaro Art Award, held by the Marcos Amaro Foundation in partnership with SP-Arte, were announced. The ones chosen for this edition are André Komatsu (galeria Vermelho), Estela Sokol (Anita Schwartz Art Gallery), Jonathas de Andrade (galeria Vermelho), Marcelo Moscheta (galeria Vermelho) and Virginia de Medeiros (Gallery Nara Roesler).

The winner, to be announced on April 4, during the 15th edition of SP-Arte, will receive a prize of R$ 50 and will have another R$ 45 to develop an unprecedented project, to be exhibited at Fábrica de Arte Marcos Amaro (Itu, São Paulo) in 2020, parallel to the 16th edition of SP-Arte. The project will be supervised by the curator Ricardo Resende and, later, the work may be incorporated into the collection of the Marcos Amaro Foundation.

Due to the large number of entries, 139 in all, with names of renowned artists and young talents, the jury – composed of members of the advisory board of Fábrica de Arte Marcos Amaro – had no easy task in choosing the finalists. The selectors Marcos Amaro, Ricardo Resende, Raquel Fayad, Aracy Amaral, Fábio Magalhães, Gilberto Salvador and Patricia Rousseaux (publisher of ARTE!Brasileiros) evaluated based on the artists’ body of work and the proposed project for the collection.

The Marcos Amaro Art Prize was born in 2017, during the 13th SP-Arte, from the proposal to value and give visibility to Brazilian and foreign artists. Ivan Grilo (Casa Triângulo) and Brígida Baltar (Galeria Nara Roesler) were awarded in 2017 and 2018, respectively.


Leave a comment

Please write a comment
Please write your name