34th Bienal de São Paulo.
"La Cena" (The Supper), 1991, by Cuban artist Belkis Ayón. Photo: José A. Figueroa/ Courtesy of Belkis Ayón Estate

A Fundação Bienal de São Paulo has just announced the complete list of artists participating in its 34th edition, entitled It's dark but I sing. The exhibition will be composed by 91 names – two duos and one collective – from 39 countries (see the names below). Started in February 2020, the edition has been unfolding in space and time with physical and online programming – read here article about the collective exhibition Wind, carried out in the last year, and here interview with curator Jacopo Crivelli Visconti and assistant curator Paulo Miyada. Among the 35 new names announced are three Brazilians – Arjan Martins, Mauro Restiffe and Sueli Maxakali -, in addition to the French based in Brazil Pierre Verger.

All actions will culminate in the group show that will occupy the Ciccillo Matarazzo Pavilion, in Ibirapuera, from September 2021, simultaneously with the holding of dozens of individual exhibitions at partner institutions in the city of São Paulo. According to Crivelli, in a publicity text: “Since its conception, and with an even greater sense of urgency after the events of the last few months, the 34th Bienal de São Paulo seeks to establish bridges between works and artists that reflect multiple cosmovisions, cultures and historical moments. . The process of putting all these voices in relationship and resonance was intense and stimulating, vivifying one of Édouard Glissant's concepts that most inspired us on this path, that we always speak and write in the presence of all the languages ​​of the world”. 

The Foundation also launches for the first time an entirely digital catalog for one of its editions (see here). The publication, entitled try – inspired by the work of the Amazonian poet Thiago de Mello, as well as the title of the 34th Bienal -, composes a visual and textual narrative made up of contributions from the 91 participating artists created exclusively for the occasion. In view of the drawings, photographs, poems and texts shared by the artists, Elvira Dyangani Ose (guest editor) and Vitor Cesar (designer and author of the edition's visual language) focused on the creation of a catalog that reflected the poetics of open essays and “relationship”, guiding principles for curatorship. Its content will be incorporated into the exhibition's printed catalog, to be launched in September.

See the complete list of artists participating in the 34th Bienal de São Paulo:

Abel Rodriguez, 1944, Cahuinari, Colombia
Adrián Balseca, 1989, Quito, Ecuador
Alfredo Jaar, 1956, Santiago, Chile
Alice Shintani, 1971, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Amie Siegel, 1974, Chicago, USA
Ana Adamović, 1974, Belgrade, Serbia
Andrea Fraser, 1965, Montana, USA
Anna-Bella Papp, 1988, Chișineu-Criș, Romania
Antonio Dias, 1944, Campina Grande, PB, Brazil – 2018, Rio de Janeiro, RJ, Brazil
Antonio Vega Macotela, 1979, Mexico City, Mexico
Arjan Martins, 1960, Rio de Janeiro, RJ, Brazil
Beatriz Santiago Muñoz, 1972, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Belkis Ayon, 1967 – 1999, Havana, Cuba
Carmela Gross, 1946, Sao Paulo, SP, Brazil
Christoforos Savva, 1924, Marathovounos, Cyprus – 1968, Sheffield, UK
Clara Ianni, 1987, São Paulo, SP, Brazil
Claude Cahun, 1894, Nantes, France – 1954, Saint Helier, Jersey
Daiara Tukano, 1982, São Paulo, SP, Brazil
Daniel de Paula, 1987, Brazilian, born in Boston, USA
Darcy Lange, 1946, Urenui, New Zealand – 2005, Auckland, New Zealand
Deana Lawson, 1979, New York, USA
Dirk Braeckman, 1958, Eeklo, Belgium
EB Itso, 1977, Copenhagen, Denmark
Edurne Rubio, 1974, Burgos, Spain
Eleonora Fabião, 1968, Rio de Janeiro, RJ, Brazil
Eleonore Koch, 1926 – 2018, Berlin, Germany
Eric Baudelaire, 1973, Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Frida Orupabo, 1986, Sarpsborg, Norway
Gala Porras-Kim, 1984, Bogotá, Colombia
Giorgio Griffa, 1936, Turin, Italy
Giorgio Morandi, 1890 – 1964, Bologna, Italy
Grace Passô, 1980, Belo Horizonte, MG, Brazil
Guan Xiao, 1983, Chongqing, China
Gustavo Caboco, 1989, Curitiba, PR, Brazil
Hanni Kamaly, 1988, Hedmark, Norway
Haris Epaminenda 1980, Nicosia, Cyprus
Hsu Che-Yu 1985, Taipei, Taiwan
Jacqueline Nova, 1935 – 1975, Ghent, Belgium
Jaider Esbell, 1979, Normandy, RR, Brazil
Jaune Quick-to-See Smith, 1940, Flathead Reservation, Montana, USA
Joan Jonas, 1936, New York, New York, USA
Jota Mombasa, 1991, Natal, RN, Brazil
Jungjin Lee, 1961, Daegu, South Korea
Juraci Dórea, 1944, Feira de Santana, BA, Brazil
Kelly Sinnapah Mary 1981, Guadeloupe, France
Koki Tanaka 1975, Kyoto, Japan
Lasar Segall, 1889, Vilnius, Lithuania – 1957, São Paulo, Brazil
Lawrence Abu Hamdan, 1985, Amman, Jordan
Lee 'Scratch' Perry, 1936, Kendal, Jamaica
Leon Ferrari, 1920 – 2013, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Lothar Baumgarten, 1944, Rheinsberg, Germany – 2018, Berlin, Germany
Luisa Cunha, 1949, Lisbon, Portugal
Lydia Ourahmane, 1992, Saïda, Algeria
Lygia Pape, 1927, Nova Friburgo, RJ, Brazil – 2004, Rio de Janeiro, RJ, Brazil
Manthia Diawara, 1953, Bamako, Mali
Mariana Caló and Francisco Queimadela, 1984, Viana do Castelo, and 1985, Coimbra, Portugal
Marissa Lee Benedict and David Rueter, 1985, Palm Springs, USA and 1978, Ann Arbor, USA
Marinella Senatore, 1977, Cava de' Tirreni, Italy
Mauro Restiffe, 1970, São José do Rio Pardo, SP, Brazil
Melvin Moti, 1977, Rotterdam, Netherlands
Mette Edvardsen 1970, Lørenskog, Norway
Nalini Malani, 1946, Karachi, Pakistan
Naomi Rincón Gallardo, 1979, Mexico City, Mexico
Neo Muyanga, 1974, Soweto, South Africa
Nina Beier, 1975, Aarhus, Denmark
Noa Eshkol, 1924, Kibbutz Degania Bet, Palestine – 2007, Holon, Israel
Muse Michelle Mattiuzzi, 1983, São Paulo, SP, Brazil
Olivia Plender, 1977, London, UK
Oscar Tuazon, 1975, Seattle, Washington, USA
Paulo Kapela, 1947, Uige, Angola –- 2020, Luanda, Angola
Paulo Nazareth, 1977, Governador Valadares, MG, Brazil
Philipp Fleischmann, 1985, Hollabrunn, Austria
Pia Arke, 1958, Uunarteq, Greenland – 2007, Copenhagen, Denmark
Pierre Verger, 1902, Paris, France – 1996, Salvador, BA, Brazil
Regina Silveira, 1939, Porto Alegre, RS, Brazil
Roger Bernat, 1968, Barcelona, ​​Spain
Sebastián Calfuqueo Aliste, 1991, Santiago, Chile
Silke Otto-Knapp, 1970, Osnabrück, Germany
Sueli Maxakali, 1976, Santa Helena de Minas, MG, Brazil
Sung Tieu, 1987, Hai Duong, Vietnam
Tamara Henderson, 1982, Sackville, Canada
Tony Cokes, 1956, Richmond, Virginia, USA
Trajal Harrell, 1973, Douglas, Georgia, USA
Uýra, 1991, Manaus, AM, Brazil
Victor Anicet, 1938, Marigot, Saint Martin
Vincent Meessen, 1971, Belgian, born in Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Ximena Garrido-Lecca, 1980, Lima, Peru
Yuko Mohri 1980, Kanagawa, Japan
Yuyachkani, Theater group founded in 1971 in Peru
Zina Saro-Wiwa, 1976, Port Harcourt, Nigeria
Zózimo Bulbul, 1937 – 2013, Rio de Janeiro, RJ, Brazil

SERVICE: 34th Bienal de São Paulo – It's dark but I sing
From September 4th to December 5th, 2021
Ciccillo Matarazzo Pavilion, Ibirapuera Park
Free admission


Leave a comment

Please write a comment
Please write your name